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ALABAMA  HB 506       ENACTED June 11, 2015 
   (Act No. 472)    EFFECTIVE September 1, 2015   
     
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

Amends the pension provision to provide that an individual shall be disqualified for total or 
partial unemployment for any week with respect to which, or a part of which, an individual has 
received or has been determined eligible to receive (during a period for which benefits are being 
claimed) a governmental or other pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity, or similar periodic 
payment based on the previous work of the individual; except, that: 
 
• the amount of benefits payable to an individual for any such week which begins in a 

period with respect to which the disqualifying provisions of the pension provisions apply, 
shall be reduced (but not below zero) by an amount equal to the amount of such pension, 
retirement or retired pay, annuity, or other payment, which is reasonably attributable to 
such week, only: 

 
• if such payment is made under a plan that is maintained (or contributed to) by a base 

period employer and 100 percent employer-financed and not contributed to by the 
worker; and 

 
• if, in accordance with the pension provisions any individual is awarded pension payments 

retroactively covering the same period for which the individual received benefits, the 
retroactive payments shall constitute cause for disqualification and any benefits paid 
during such period shall be recovered only if the retroactive pension payments were made 
under a plan that is maintained (or contributed to) by a base period employer, 100 percent 
employer-financed, and not contributed to by the worker. 

 
Previously, the pension requirements did not require that the pension be 100 percent employer-
financed and not contributed to by the worker. 

 
 
 
 
 
 



ARIZONA HB 2168     ENACTED March 30, 2015 
  (CH 101)     EFFECTIVE July 3, 2015 
 
Administration 

Provides that two or more public agencies may enter into contracts or agreements to establish a 
pool which may offer services on behalf of pool participants in the unemployment insurance 
program administered by the Department of Economic Security, including the option to make 
payments in lieu of contributions as permitted by Sections 23-750 and 23-751 of the Arizona 
Employment Security Act.  The pool is deemed an agent of the pool participants as employers 
for the purposes of the Arizona Employment Security Act.  

ARKANSAS   SB 925   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE   March 31, 2015 
   (Act No. 864)     
 
Financing 
 
Exempts out-of-state businesses operating in Arkansas from making unemployment insurance 
contributions during a declared emergency when those businesses are aiding the state in 
recovering from the declared disaster.   
 
CONNECTICUT HB 6707    ENACTED July 2, 2015  
   (Public Act 158)   EFFECTIVE October 1, 2015 
 
Financing 
 
Provides that no base period employer’s account shall be charged with respect to benefits paid to 
a claimant who has been discharged or suspended because the claimant has been disqualified 
from performing the work for which he or she was hired due to the loss of such claimant’s 
operator license as a result of a drug or alcohol test or testing program conducted in accordance 
with: 
 

• Section 14-44k of the 2012 Connecticut General Statutes (relating to a driver’s 
disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle),  

• Section 14-227a of the 2011 Connecticut Code (relating to operating a motor vehicle 
while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug or both), or  

• Section 14-227b of the 2011 Connecticut Code (relating to implied consent to test a 
motor operator’s blood, breath, or urine) while the claimant was off duty. 

 
GEORGIA HB 117    ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 6, 2015 
  (Act No. 113)       
 
Financing 
 
Modifies the definition of the term “most recent employer” to mean, for claims with benefit 
years that begin on or after July 1, 2015, the last employer for whom an individual worked.  (For 



claims with benefit years beginning on or before June 30, 2015, the term “most recent employer” 
meant the last liable employer for whom an individual worked and:  (1) the individual was 
separated from work for a disqualifying reason; (2) the individual was released or separated from 
work under nondisqualifying conditions and earned wages of at least 10 times the weekly benefit 
amount of the claim; or (3) the employer filed the claim for the individual by submitting such 
reports as authorized by the Commissioner of Labor.) 
 
Provides that regular benefits paid with respect to all benefit years that begin on or after July 1, 
2015, shall be charged against the experience rating account or reimbursement account of the 
most recent employer, provided that: 
 

(A) the most recent employer is a liable employer; and 
(B)(i) the most recent employer separated the individual from work under 

nondisqualifying conditions, or files the claim for the individual by submitting such reports as 
authorized by the Commissioner; or 

(ii) the individual separated from the most recent employer under nondisqualifying 
conditions. 
 
Provides that regular benefits to be charged against the experience rating account or 
reimbursement account of the most recent employer shall be charged in the following manner: 
 

(A) benefits paid shall be charged to the account of the most recent employer, including 
those benefits paid based upon insured wages which were earned to requalify following a period 
of disqualification; 

(B) except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (E) below, benefits charged to the 
account of an employer shall not exceed the amount of wages paid by such employer during the 
period beginning with the base period of the individual’s claim and continuing through the 
individual’s benefit year; 

(C) except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (E) below, benefits shall not be 
charged to the account of an employer when an individual’s overpayment is waived; 

(D) except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (E) below, for the purposes of 
calculating an employer’s contribution rate, an account of an employer shall not be charged for 
benefits paid to an individual for unemployment that is directly caused by a presidentially 
declared natural disaster; 

(E)(i) an employer shall respond in a timely and adequate manner to a notice of a claim 
filing or a written request by the Department of Labor for information relating to a claim for 
benefits as specified in the rules or regulations prescribed by the Commissioner. 

(ii) any violation of (E)(i) by an employer or an officer or agent of an employer absent 
good cause may result in the employer’s account being charged for overpayment of benefits paid 
due to such violation even if the determination is later reversed; provided, however, that upon the 
finding of three violations of (E)(i) within a calendar year resulting in an overpayment of 
benefits, an employer’s account shall be charged for any additional overpayment and shall not be 
relieved of such charges unless good cause is shown; and 

(F) benefits paid to individuals shall be charged against the Unemployment Trust Fund 
when benefits are paid but not charged against an employer’s experience rating account or when 
the employer is not a liable employer. 



Provides that applications for an adjustment or a refund of contributions, payments in lieu of 
contributions, or interest thereon shall be submitted no later than 3 years from the date such 
amounts were assessed.  Applications must be in writing.  The Commissioner shall determine 
what amounts, if any, were erroneously collected.  Adjustments shall be made against subsequent 
payments.  Refunds will be issued, without interest thereon, when adjustments cannot be made. 
At the option of the Commissioner, the Commissioner may make (previously, initiate) any 
adjustments or refunds deemed appropriate for any amounts erroneously collected where no 
written request for a refund or an adjustment has been received, provided such amounts were 
assessed within the last 7 (previously, 3) years.  Amounts shall be refunded from the fund into 
which they were deposited. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that, where an individual has voluntarily left work, good cause in connection with the 
individual’s most recent work shall be determined by the Commissioner according to the 
circumstances in the case; provided, however, that the following circumstances shall be deemed 
to establish such good cause, and the employer’s account shall not be charged for any benefits 
paid out to an individual who leaves an employer: 
 

(i) to accompany a spouse who has been reassigned from one military assignment to 
another; provided, however, that the employer’s account shall not be charged for any benefits 
paid out to the person who leaves to accompany a spouse reassigned from one military 
assignment to another; or 

(ii) due to family violence verified by reasonable documentation demonstrating that: 
(I) leaving the employer was a condition of receiving services from a family 

violence shelter; 
(II) leaving the employer was a condition of receiving shelter as a resident of a 

family violence shelter; or 
(III) such family violence caused the individual to reasonably believe that the 

claimant’s continued employment would jeopardize the safety of the claimant or the 
safety of any member of the claimant’s immediate family. 

 
Provides that, when voluntarily leaving an employer, the burden of proof of good cause in 
connection with the individual’s most recent work shall be on the individual. 
 
Overpayments 
 
Provides that any action to recover an overpayment shall be brought by the Commissioner or an 
authorized representative of the Commissioner within 7 years from the release date of the notice 
of determination and overpayment by the Department. 
 
INDIANA HB 1186      ENACTED May 5, 2015 
  (Pub. L. 183)      EFFECTIVE July 1, 2015 

Financing 
 



Provides that amounts of the unemployment insurance surcharge (13 percent of the employer’s 
contribution payable quarterly) not used to pay interest on Title XII advances but instead are 
deposited in the unemployment insurance benefit fund must be subtracted from the total amount 
of benefits charged to the fund under Section 22-4-11-1 of the Indiana Employment and Training 
Services Act in determining each employer’s share of those benefits under Section 22-4-11-
2(e)(1) of the Indiana Employment and Training Services Act.  (Previously, the law required the 
amount of the surcharge deposited in the unemployment insurance benefit fund be credited to 
each employer’s experience account in proportion to the amount the employer paid during the 
preceding 4 calendar quarters.) 
 
Provides that, on the computation date, every employer who had taxable wages in the previous 
calendar year shall have the employer’s experience account charged with the amount determined 
under the following formula: 
 

• Step one:  divide the employer’s taxable wages for the preceding calendar year by the 
total taxable wages for the preceding calendar year. 

• Step two:  subtract the amount described in IC 22-4-10-4.5(e)(2), if any, from the total 
amount of benefits charged to the fund. 

• Step three:  multiply the quotient determined under step one by the difference determined 
under step two.   

 
(Previously, the above formula consisted of two steps.  Step one:  divide the employer’s taxable 
wages for the preceding calendar year by the total taxable wages for the preceding calendar year. 
Step two:  multiply the quotient determined under step one by the total amount of benefits 
charged to the fund.) 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that an insured worker may not receive benefits in a second benefit year unless, after 
the beginning of the immediately preceding benefit year during which the individual received 
benefits, the individual performed insured work, earned remuneration in employment in at least 
each of 8 weeks, and earned remuneration equal to or exceeding the product of the individual’s 
weekly benefit amount multiplied by 8.  (Previously, the law required the individual to perform 
insured work and earn wages in employment under Section 22-4-8 of the Employment and 
Training Services Act, in an amount not less than the individual’s weekly benefit amount 
established for the individual in the preceding benefit year, in each of 8 weeks.) 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Clarifies that, with respect to a determination of ineligibility for a failure without good cause to 
accept an offer of suitable work, the ineligibility shall continue for the week in which the failure 
occurs and until the individual earns remuneration in employment in at least each of 8 weeks, 
and remuneration equal to or exceeding the product of the individual’s weekly benefit amount 
multiplied by 8.  (Previously, the ineligibility continued for the week in which the failure 
occurred and until the individual earned remuneration in employment equal to or exceeding the 
weekly benefit amount of the individual’s claim in each of 8 weeks.) 



 
Overpayments 
 
Provides that, for an overpayment for any individual other than an individual who knowingly 
makes, or causes to be made by another, a false statement or representation of a material fact 
knowing it to be false; or fails, or causes another to fail to disclose a material fact; or for any 
individual other than an individual who fails to report wages received during a week in which 
benefits were paid or because of the subsequent receipt of income deductible from benefits 
which is allocable to the week or weeks for which benefits were paid, the Department has 4 years 
from the date of the overpayment to establish that the overpayment occurred and the amount of 
the overpayment. 
 
Deletes the language that the individual is liable to repay the established amount of the 
overpayment or have such amount deducted from any benefits otherwise payable to the 
individual within the 6-year period following the later of the date the Department establishes that 
an overpayment has occurred or the date that the determination of an overpayment becomes final 
following the exhaustion of all appeals.  The provision currently provides that, whenever an 
individual receives benefits or extended benefits to which the individual is not entitled because 
the individual knowingly makes, or causes to be made by another, a false statement or 
representation of a material fact knowing it to be false; or fails, or causes another to fail to 
disclose a material fact, and as a result thereof has received any amount as benefits to which the 
individual is not entitled, the individual is liable to repay such amount with interest at the rate of 
0.5 percent per month, or to have such amount deducted from any benefits otherwise payable to 
the individual. 
 
Provides that any individual who fails to report wages received during a week in which benefits 
were paid or because of the subsequent receipt of income deductible from benefits which is 
allocable to the week or weeks for which benefits were paid and, as a result, is not entitled to 
such benefits shall be liable to repay such amount to the Department, or to have such amount 
deducted from any benefits otherwise payable to the individual.  (Previously, provided  that any 
individual who for any reason other than misrepresentation or nondisclosure has received any 
amount as benefits to which the individual is not entitled or because of the subsequent receipt of 
income deductible from benefits which is allocable to the week or weeks for which such benefits 
were paid becomes not entitled to such benefitsshall be liable to repay such amount to the 
Department for the unemployment insurance benefit fund or to have such amount deducted from 
any benefits otherwise payable to the individual within the 3-year period following the later of 
the date the Department establishes that the overpayment occurred or the date that the 
determination that an overpayment occurred becomes final following the exhaustion of all 
appeals.) 
 
Provides that an individual, who for any reason other than knowingly making or causing to be 
made by another a false statement or representation of a material fact knowing it to be false or 
fails or causes another to fail to disclose a material fact, and an individual who for any reason 
other than failing to report wages received during a week in which benefits were paid or because 
of the subsequent receipt of income deductible from benefits which is allocable to the week or 
weeks for which benefits were paid, has received any amount as benefits to which the individual 



is not entitled is liable to repay that amount to the Department, or to have that amount deducted 
from any benefits otherwise payable to the individual. 
 
Repeals the following Section 22-4-13-4 of the Employment and Training Services Act:  Sec. 4. 
(a) This section applies to an individual: (1) for whom the Department has established an 
overpayment by a final written determination; and (2) whose overpayment amount that is due 
and payable equals or exceeds the individual’s weekly benefit amount multiplied by 4. (b) 
Notwithstanding any other law and subject to subsection (c), an individual is entitled to repay the 
established amount of an overpayment over a period:  (1) beginning on the date the 
determination of the amount of the overpayment is final; and (2) ending on a date not later than 
the date occurring 36 months after the date the determination of the amount of the overpayment 
is final.  (c) An individual to whom this section applies may repay an overpayment over time 
provided in subsection (b) not more than once during the individual’s lifetime. 

 
Establishes procedures for administrative withholding of benefit overpayments.  Whenever the 
Department establishes an overpayment for an individual under Indiana Code 22-4-13-1(c) or 
Indiana Code 22-4-13-1(d),  and the overpayment becomes final following the exhaustion of all 
appeals, the Department may, in addition to any other manner of collecting the overpayment 
provided by law, require each employer of an individual for whom an overpayment is established 
to withhold amounts from the individual’s income and pay those amounts to the Department. 

 
Provides that the Department shall provide a notice to an individual who is subject to 
withholding for benefit overpayments and to each of the individual’s employers.  A notice to 
withhold income will be sent to each employer of an individual who is subject to withholding.  
The notice to withhold is binding on the employer, and penalties will be assessed for an 
employer that refuses to withhold income or knowingly misrepresents an employee’s income. 
Permits the individual to contest the withholding and assert exemptions from withholding by 
requesting an administrative review. 

MAINE HB 477     ENACTED May 26, 2015 
  (CH 107)     EFFECTIVE October 14, 2015 
    
 
Financing 

Provides that the following applies to the assignment of rates and transfers of experience in 
successor purchases when there is substantially no common ownership, management, or control 
between purchaser and predecessor.  Effective as of the date on which the business was acquired: 
 

(1) The executors, administrators, successors, or assigns of a new employer who 
acquires the business of the predecessor employer may acquire the experience rate of that 
employer with payrolls, contributions, and benefits or may be assigned the state average 
contribution rate, whichever rate is lower; and 

(2) The executors, administrators, successors, or assigns of an existing employer 
with an established experience rate who acquires the business of the predecessor employer may 
acquire the experience rate of that predecessor employer with payrolls, contributions, and 



benefits, which is then blended with the successor’s established experience rate to form a new 
rate, or retain the established experience rate of the successor, whichever is lower. 

MAINE  HB 478      ENACTED April 29, 2015 
  (CH 39)     EFFECTIVE October 14, 2015 
  
Administration 
 
Amends the name of the account to which unemployment insurance trust fund payments are 
deposited to “the tax deposit account.”  (Previously, “the combined unemployment insurance 
contributions and income tax withholding deposit account.”)   
  
Adds new language that allows employers to file quarterly payroll reports either electronically or 
on forms prescribed by the Bureau of Employment Security.   

MAINE Rule 10728      ADOPTED April 8, 2015 
         EFFECTIVE April 5, 2015 

Financing 

Provides that, with respect to notices issued prior to June 19, 2014, a payment received as the 
result of a billing notice on which the employer was billed for both Maine income tax withheld 
and Maine unemployment contributions will be prorated between the two taxes using the tax 
amounts due as recorded on the bill.  Maine income tax withheld and Maine unemployment 
contributions will be billed separately, and payments applied separately, with respect to notices 
issued on or after June 19, 2014.  (Applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.) 

MONTANA  SB 85     ENACTED February 27, 2015 
   (CH 81)    EFFECTIVE July 1, 2015 

Financing 
 
Adds to the provisions concerning collection of unpaid taxes, penalties, and interest by offset that 
the Montana Department of Labor and Industry may direct the offset of funds owed to a person 
under 26 U.S.C. 6402 if the person owes a covered unemployment insurance tax debt.  “Covered 
unemployment insurance tax debt” means: 
 

(a) employer contributions, penalties, and interest owed to the unemployment 
insurance fund for which the Department determines a person is liable and which remain 
uncollected; and 

(b) any costs or processing fees associated with obtaining an offset for a covered 
unemployment insurance tax debt.   
 
Overpayments 
 



Adds to the provisions concerning the collection of benefit overpayments that the claimant is 
responsible for any costs or processing fees associated with obtaining an offset of funds owed to 
a person under 26 U.S.C. 6402 if the person owes a covered unemployment compensation debt. 
 
Provides that the Department may enter into an agreement with a claimant for a lump-sum 
repayment to collect a benefit overpayment if the benefit overpayment was not the result of a 
false claim, a misrepresentation, or failure to disclose a material fact by the claimant.  The 
agreement must provide that: 
 

(i) the lump-sum repayment amount is more than 5 percent of the amount due; and 
(ii) the remaining unpaid amount of the benefit overpayment is a debt that is 

forgiven if the claimant does not, in conjunction with a claim for unemployment benefits, make a 
false claim or misrepresentation or fail to disclose a material fact during the 2-year period 
following the claimant’s repayment of the lump-sum amount agreed to. 
 
Provides that, except as otherwise provided, a benefit offset may not exceed 50 percent of the 
weekly benefits to which a claimant is entitled unless the claimant gives consent.  (Previously, 
unless the claimant gives written consent.) 
 
Provides that, in provisions concerning collection of benefit compensation, the phrase “covered 
unemployment compensation debt” is changed to “covered unemployment compensation benefit 
debt” defined as: 
 

• a benefit overpayment and penalty that has been adjudicated as a debt under Montana law 
and has remained uncollected and that is owed because of: 

 
(i) the erroneous payment of unemployment compensation resulting from the 

person’s own fraud; or 
(ii)  the person’s failure to report earnings, irrespective of whether this failure 

constitutes fraud. 
 
Previously, “covered unemployment compensation debt” meant (i) a benefit overpayment and 
penalty owed because of the erroneous payment of unemployment compensation resulting from 
fraud, which has been adjudicated as a debt under Montana law and has remained uncollected for 
not more than 10 years; or (ii) employer contributions, penalty, and interest owed to the 
unemployment trust fund that the Department determines are attributable to fraud and that have 
remained uncollected for not more than 10 years. 
 
The above provisions apply retroactively to debts incurred on or before July 1, 2015. 

MONTANA  SB 105     ENACTED March 27, 2015 
   (CH 132)    EFFECTIVE July 1, 2015 

Appeals 
 

Renames the “board of labor appeals” to “unemployment insurance appeals board”. 
  



Provides that the employer’s request for a determination or redetermination pertains only to the 
experience factors or the major industrial classification that determines the classification and rate 
of contribution.  The rate schedules and the method of calculation are not subject to appeal. 
 
Provides that the notification to employers of the classification and rate of contribution 
applicable to their accounts is final for all purposes unless the employer files a written request 
with the Montana Department of Labor and Industry for a redetermination or hearing on the 
classification and rate of contribution within 30 days after the Department sends the notice.  
(Previously, within 30 days after the mailing date of the notice.)  
 
Provides that a determination or redetermination of a claim for benefits is final unless an 
interested party applies for reconsideration of the determination or appeals within 10 days after 
the determination or redetermination was sent to the interested party’s address of record.   
(Previously, within 10 days after the notification was mailed to the interested party’s last-known 
address.) 
 
Provides that the decision of an appeals referee after a hearing is final unless further review is 
initiated within 10 days after the decision was sent to the interested party’s address of record.   
(Previously, within 10 days after notification was mailed to the interested party’s last-known 
address.)  
 
Provides that, when a decision is rendered by the board and copies of the decision are mailed to 
all interested parties, including the Department, that decision is final unless an interested party 
requests a rehearing or initiates judicial review by filing a petition in district court within 30 days 
of the date of sending the board’s decision to the party’s address of record.  (Previously, within 
30 days of the date of mailing of the board’s decision to the party’s last-known address.) 
 
Provides that a decision of the board, in the absence of an appeal, becomes final 30 days after the 
decision was sent to the parties at their respective addresses of record.  (Previously, any decision 
of the board, in the absence of an appeal therefrom as herein provided shall become final 30 days 
after the date of notification or mailing thereof.) 
 
Provides that within 30 days after the decision (previously, within 30 days after the date of 
notification or mailing of the decision) of the board is sent to the parties at their respective 
addresses of record, any party aggrieved by the decision may secure judicial review by 
commencing an action in the district court of the county in which the party resides and in which 
action any other party to the proceeding before the board must be made a defendant.  
 
Coverage 
 
Excludes from the definition of employment services performed by an election judge appointed 
pursuant to Section 13-4-101 of the Montana Code if the remuneration received for those 
services is less than $1,000 in a calendar year. 
 
Financing 
 



Provides that the Montana Department of Labor and Industry may not adjust wages that have 
been used for the purpose of establishing benefit eligibility after the statute of limitations 
provided in Section 39-51-2402 of the Montana Unemployment Insurance Law has expired, and 
a credit to the employers’ account or a refund to employers may not be made with respect to 
those wages. 
 
Provides that, if benefit charges exceed contributions paid in the last completed state fiscal year 
(previously, in the last 2 completed state fiscal years), governmental entities’ rates must be 
adjusted by increasing all rates to the next higher schedule. 

NEVADA   AB 389    ENACTED June 6, 2015 
    (CH 458)    EFFECTIVE October 1, 2015 

Coverage 
 
Redefines “employee leasing company” to mean a company which, pursuant to a written or oral 
agreement intended by the parties to create an ongoing relationship, places any of the regular, 
full-time employees of a client company on its payroll and, for a fee, leases them to the client 
company.  (Previously “employee leasing company” meant a company which, pursuant to a 
written or oral agreement:  (a) places any of the regular, full-time employees of a client company 
on its payroll and, for a fee, leases them to the client company on a regular basis without any 
limitation on the duration of their employment; or (b) leases to a client company:  (1) 5 or more 
part-time or full-time employees; or (2) 10 percent or more of the total number of employees 
within a classification of risk established by the Commissioner.)  
 
The term “ongoing relationship” means a relationship wherein the rights, duties, and obligations 
of an employer which arise out of an employment relationship are allocated between the 
employee leasing company and the client company on an ongoing, long-term basis.  The term 
does not include a temporary or project-specific agreement between an employee leasing 
company and a client company.  
 
An applicant (a person seeking a certificate of registration to operate an employee leasing 
company) that is required to submit a financial statement may submit a consolidated or combined 
audited financial statement that includes, but is not exclusive to, the applicant.  
 
Provides that a client company of an employee leasing company as defined in Nevada Revised 
Statues (NRS) 616B.670 shall be deemed to be the employer of the employees it leases for the 
purposes of Chapter 612 of NRS (purposes of unemployment compensation).  (Previously, the 
law provided that an employee leasing company which complies with the provisions of NRS 
616B.670 to 616B.697, inclusive, shall be deemed to be the employer of the employees it leases 
to a client company.  The provisions apply only for the purposes of Chapters 612 and 616A to 
617, inclusive, of NRS.) 

Repeals NRS 616B.682 that required an employee leasing company to maintain an office or 
similar site in Nevada for retaining, reviewing, and auditing its payroll records and written 
agreements with client companies; to maintain at the office or site records establishing that the 
employee leasing company maintains current policies of workers’ compensation insurance or 



satisfies its obligation to provide such coverage; and to keep records open for inspection and 
copying. 
 
NEVADA   SB 24     ENACTED June 9, 2015 
    (CH 466)    EFFECTIVE October 1, 2015 

Administration 
 
Allows the Administrator of the Employment Security Division, in accordance with a 
cooperative agreement among all participants in the statewide longitudinal data system 
developed pursuant to Nevada Revised Statues (NRS) 400.040, to make the information obtained 
by the Division available to:   
 

• the Board of Regents of the University of Nevada for the purpose of complying with the 
provisions of subsection 4 of NRS 396.531; and 

• the Director of the Department of Employment, Training, and Rehabilitation for the 
purpose of complying with the provisions of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 of NRS 
232.920.  

 
Requires the Division of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry 
(previously, a private carrier that provides industrial insurance in this State) to periodically 
(previously, during the preceding month) submit to the Administrator, from information in the 
index of claims established pursuant to NRS 616B.018, a list containing the name of each person 
who received benefits pursuant to Chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, or Chapter 617 of NRS.  
Upon receipt of that information, the Administrator shall compare the information so provided 
with the records of the Employment Security Division regarding persons claiming benefits for 
the same period.  The information submitted by the Division of Industrial Relations (previously, 
by the private carrier) must be in a form determined by the Administrator and must contain the 
Social Security number of each such person.  If it appears from the information submitted that a 
person is simultaneously claiming benefits, the Administrator shall notify the Attorney General 
or any other appropriate law enforcement agency.  Deletes the language requiring the 
Administrator to charge a fee to cover the actual costs of any related administrative expenses.  

Coverage 
 
Excludes from the definition of “employment” services performed as a member of the Nevada 
Army National Guard or Nevada Air National Guard unless the member: 
 

(a) was ordered to full-time active duty for at least 90 consecutive days; 
(b) is paid under Title 32 of the U.S. Code; 
(c) is released from military service under unemployment compensation for Ex-
servicemembers (UCX) eligibility separation reasons; and 
(d) is otherwise entitled to receive benefits.  

 
Overpayments 



Provides that, except as otherwise provided in the next paragraph, at any time within 5 years 
after the notice of overpayment, the Administrator may recover the amount of the overpayment 
by using the same methods of collection for the collection of past due contributions or by 
deducting the amount of the overpayment from any benefits payable to the liable person. 
Provides that, if the overpayment is due to fraud, misrepresentation, or willful nondisclosure, the 
Administrator may, within 10 years after the notice of overpayment, recover any amounts due in 
accordance with the provisions of NRS 612.7102 to 612.7116, inclusive. 
 
Provides that, in addition to other criteria, a person shall not make a false statement or 
representation, knowing it to be false, or knowingly fail to disclose a material fact in order to 
obtain or increase any benefit or other payment , including, without limitation, by filing a claim 
for or receiving benefits and failing to disclose, at the time he or she files the claim or receives 
the benefits, any compensation for a temporary total disability or a temporary partial disability or 
money for rehabilitative services pursuant to Chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, or 617 of NRS 
received by the person or for which a claim has been submitted pursuant to those Chapters.  

NEVADA Rule 5884     ADOPTED June 12, 2015 
        EFFECTIVE June 3, 2015 
 
Coverage 
 
Provides that full-time active duty in the Nevada National Guard or Nevada Air National Guard 
by members with 90 days or more of continuous service will be considered as employment. 
Members of the National Guard may receive unemployment insurance benefits if the following 
apply:  
 

(a) Member is ordered to full-time active duty for at least 90 continuous days.  
(b) Member is paid under Title 32 of the U.S. Code.  
(c) Member is released from military service under unemployment compensation for  
Ex-servicemembers (UCX) eligibility separation reasons.  
(d) Member is otherwise entitled to receive unemployment benefits per 
unemployment insurance regulations.  
 

Provides that this rule is temporary and expires November 1, 2015.  
 
NEW JERSEY SB 1622   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 4, 2015 
   (CH 40) 
 
Financing 

Provides that, upon a determination by the Controller of the Department of Labor that an 
employer has failed to pay any required contribution to the unemployment compensation fund, 
the State disability benefits fund, or the Family Temporary Disability Leave Account of the State 
disability benefits fund, including any contribution which the employer is required to collect 
from his or her employees to pay into the funds, has not made the required payment after 
notification by the Controller of the failure, and has not been approved by the Controller for an 



extension of time in which to make the payment or for other deferral of payment, the Controller 
shall notify the Director of the Division of Budget and Accounting in the Department of the 
Treasury of the failure. 

The amount of assessment for contributions, penalties, and interest due shall be regarded as a 
State tax debt of the employer.  If the employer is under contract to provide goods or services to 
the State or its agencies or instrumentalities, including the legislative and judicial branches of the 
State government, the set-off procedures shall be utilized to have payments withheld from the 
employer under the contract as needed to satisfy the indebtedness.  A fine equal to 25 percent of 
the contributions owed shall also be withheld in addition to the amount of the indebtedness.  This 
provision shall not apply to any employer mentioned in this paragraph if the indebtedness is less 
than $300. 

In the case of a failure to pay contributions to the unemployment compensation fund, the 
delinquent amount of contributions shall be deposited into the unemployment compensation fund 
after which the fine, penalties, and interest due shall be deposited into the unemployment 
compensation auxiliary fund. 

In the case of a failure to pay contributions to the State disability benefits fund or the Family 
Temporary Disability Leave Account of the State disability benefits fund, the delinquent amount 
of contributions shall be deposited into the State disability benefits fund or the Family 
Temporary Disability Leave Account of that fund, as appropriate after which the fine, penalties, 
and interest due shall be deposited into the administration account of the State disability benefits 
fund.  A portion of the fines shall be used to reimburse the Division of Budget and Accounting 
for expenses incurred by the Department of the Treasury. 

RHODE ISLAND HB 5937 SB 761   ENACTED June 19, 2015 
   (CH 112) (CH 102)  EFFECTIVE June 19, 2015, 

unless otherwise noted 
    
Overpayments 
 
Provides that a monetary or nonmonetary determination may be reconsidered and a new 
determination issued any time within one year of the date of the original determination if the 
determination was the result of a mistake, an error has occurred in connection with it, or the 
initial determination was the result of nondisclosure or misrepresentation of a material fact.  
Previously undetected or unknown issues may be redetermined within one year of the discovery 
of the issue.  Any issue that is older than 6 years as of the date of detection of the issue shall not 
be addressed. 
 
Provides that benefits paid during an employer’s appeal that is sustained are not recoverable 
unless the overpayment is the result of fraud committed by the claimant.  Effective October 1, 
2013, an overpayment established following an employer’s appeal that is the result of fraud shall 
be recoverable from the claimant with penalties and interest. 
 
RHODE ISLAND HB 5957 SB 759  ENACTED and EFFECTIVE June 19, 2015 
   (CH 113) (CH 101)      



 
Appeals 
 
Provides that an employer who fails to respond to a benefit claim notice within 10 working days 
(previously, 7) shall not be allowed to contest the determination related to that claim or any 
resultant benefit charges. 
 
Coverage 
 
Provides that service performed by a self-employed individual is added to the exemptions from 
the definition of employment. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Requires an individual to be physically able and available for work full-time and conduct an 
active search for full-time employment to be eligible for benefits.   
 
Provides that a suspension for proven misconduct shall be treated the same as a discharge for 
proven misconduct. 
 
Overpayments 
 
Provides that receipt of unemployment benefits deposited to a direct deposit account or 
electronic payment card is considered a statement acknowledging benefit eligibility and is 
unlawful if the individual knowingly made a false or fraudulent statement for the purpose of 
receiving benefits. 
 
VIRGINIA   HB 1386   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 26, 2015 
   (CH 595)      
 
Financing 
 
Exempts out-of-state businesses operating in Virginia from making unemployment insurance 
contributions during declared emergencies when those businesses are aiding the state in 
recovering from the declared disaster.   
 
 


