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ALABAMA  HB 72        ENACTED May 8, 2012 

   (Act No. 292)    EFFECTIVE August 1, 2012 

 

Overpayments 

 

Provides that whoever willfully makes a false statement or representation or who willfully fails 

to disclose a material fact to obtain or increase any benefit payment under the state’s or any other 

state’s or government’s unemployment insurance (UI) law, either for himself or for any other 

person, whether such benefit or payment is actually received or not, shall be guilty of an offense 

as follows, and each such false statement or representation shall constitute a separate and distinct 

offense: 

 

a. If the aggregate amount involved in the offense exceeds $2,500 in value, that shall 

constitute a Class B felony; 

b. If the aggregate amount involved in the offense exceeds $500 but does not exceed 

$2,500, that shall constitute a Class C felony; 

c. If the aggregate amount involved in the offense does not exceed $500, that shall 

constitute a Class A misdemeanor; 

d. Upon conviction, sentencing for these offenses shall follow the Criminal Code of 

Alabama; 

e. In lieu of fines, any person found guilty shall be required to pay restitution to the 

Alabama Department of Industrial Relations in at least the amount of benefits 

fraudulently obtained. 

 

Under prior law such person was guilty of a misdemeanor and when convicted was punished by 

a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500, or by imprisonment for not longer than 12 

months, or by both fine and imprisonment. 

 

Provides that, in addition to any penalty or prosecution or the deduction of benefits in an amount 

not less than 4 times the weekly benefit amount and not more than the maximum benefit amount 

payable in a benefit year, for a claimant who made a fraudulent misrepresentation to obtain 

benefits to which not entitled, a disqualification shall also be applied for the 52-week period 

which immediately follows the final date of the fraud determination and until the fraud 

overpayment has been repaid in cash.  For subsequent acts determined as fraud, the 

disqualification shall be for the 104-week period which immediately follows the final date of the 

fraud determination and until the fraud overpayment has been repaid in cash.  Federal and state 

income intercepts used to satisfy overpayments are to be considered as cash payments. 



 

Provides that all fraudulent overpayment balances shall accumulate interest at the rate of 2 

percent per month on unpaid balances, shall be added to the debt balance, and deposited in the 

fraud interest penalty account.  Establishes a separate account designated as the fraud interest 

penalty account. 

 

Provides that all fraudulent overpayment balances shall have an additional minimum penalty of 

15 percent which shall be deposited in the state’s account of the Unemployment Insurance Trust 

Fund. 

 

GEORGIA HB 347      ENACTED May 2, 2012 

  (Act No. 710)      EFFECTIVE May 2, 2012, 

         or as noted 

 

Financing 

 

Amends the provisions relating to the state-wide reserve ratio by providing that for the period of 

January 1 through December 31, 2013, and each calendar year thereafter, the overall increase in 

the required rate shall be suspended, except if the state-wide reserve ratio, as calculated, is less 

than 1.25 percent on the computation date with respect to rates applicable to calendar year 2013 

or any calendar year thereafter, then for each such year the Georgia Commissioner of Labor shall 

have the option of imposing an increase in the overall rate of up to 50 percent, as of the 

computation date, for each employer whose rate is computed under a rate table in the law; 

provided, however, that if any Title XII funds borrowed by the Commissioner are unpaid or if 

the state unemployment compensation fund balance is less than $1 billion, the Commissioner 

shall impose an increase in the overall rate of 50 percent, as of the computation date, for each 

employer whose rate is computed under a rate table in the law. 

 

Increases the taxable wage base from $8,500 to $9,500 beginning January 1, 2013, and 

thereafter. 

 

Monetary Entitlement 

 

Changes the formula for computing the maximum benefits payable to an individual from 26 

times the weekly amount or ¼ of the base period wages to 14 times the weekly benefit amount, if 

the state’s average unemployment rate is at or below 6.5 percent, with an additional weekly 

amount added for each 0.5 percent increment in the state’s average unemployment rate above 6.5 

percent up to a maximum of 20 times the weekly benefit amount if the state’s average 

unemployment rate equals or exceeds 9 percent or ¼ of the base period wages.  Provides that this 

provision also applies to job training program benefits.  (Effective July 1, 2012.) 

 

Defines the term “state’s average unemployment rate” to mean the average of the adjusted state-

wide unemployment rates as published by the Georgia Department of Labor for the time periods 

of April 1 through April 30 and October 1 through October 31.  The average of the adjusted 

state-wide unemployment rates for the time period of April 1 through April 30 shall be effective 

on and after July 1 of each year and shall be effective through December 31.  The average of the 



adjusted state-wide unemployment rates for the time period of October 1 through October 31 

shall be effective on and after January 1 of each year and shall be effective through June 30. 

(Effective July 1, 2012.) 

 

HAWAII HB 2096     ENACTED March 9, 2012  

(Act No. 6)     EFFECTIVE March 9, 2012, 

Applicable retroactively to January 

1, 2012 

 

Financing 

 

Provides that notwithstanding the ratio of the current reserve fund to the adequate reserve fund, 

contribution rate schedule F shall apply for calendar year 2012.  For schedule F the minimum 

rate is 1.20 percent and the maximum rate is 5.4 percent. 

 

Provides that the moneys in the employment and training fund may be used also for funding the 

payment of interest due on Title XII advances made to the state unemployment compensation 

fund. 

 

Provides that the employment and training fund assessment rate of 0.01 percent of taxable wages 

shall be used to pay interest on Title XII advances, if interest is due.  The Director of the Hawaii 

Department of Labor and Industrial Relations shall have the discretion to determine the amount 

of the assessment rate for calendar year 2012 in increments of 0.01 percent.  Notwithstanding 

any provisions of law to the contrary, any amount collected but not applied to interest payments 

due in 2012 shall not be returned retroactively to any employer and shall be retained in the 

employment and training fund. 

 

(The above 2 paragraphs relating to Title XII advances shall be repealed on January 1, 2013, and 

the statutes shall be reenacted in the form in which they read on December 31, 2010.) 

 

Monetary Entitlement 

 

Provides that the maximum weekly benefit amount (MWBA) shall be calculated at 70 percent of 

the average weekly wage (AWW) from January 1, 2012, to March 31, 2012, and at 75 percent of 

the AWW from April 1, 2012, to December 31, 2012.  Beginning on January 1, 2013, the 

MWBA shall be calculated at 70 percent of the AWW.   The MWBA is $523 from January 1, 

2012, to March 31, 2012, and increases to $560 from April 1, 2012, to December 31, 2012. 

 

MAINE   HB 1352   ENACTED March 14, 2012 

    (CH 499)   EFFECTIVE July 17, 2012 

 

Financing 

 

Increases from 5 weeks to 6 weeks the amount of time that an employer may employ a worker 

without being charged for unemployment benefits.  Provides that the experience rating record of 

the most recent subject employer may not be charged with benefits paid to a claimant whose 



work record with that employer totaled 6 consecutive weeks or less of total or partial 

employment.  This provision is repealed March 14, 2014.  

 

Effective March 14, 2014, the number of weeks that an employer may employ a worker without 

being charged for unemployment benefits will decrease to 5. 

 

SOUTH DAKOTA  SB 87    ENACTED February 29, 2012 

    (CH 253)   EFFECTIVE July 1, 2012 

 

Financing 

 

Provides that benefits paid under this provision may not be charged to the employer’s 

experience-rating account.  

 

Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 

Allows unemployment benefits for individuals who leave employment to accompany a spouse 

who has been reassigned from one military assignment to another.   

 

UTAH  HB 388   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE MARCH 22, 2012 

  (CH 314)    

 

Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 

Denies benefits to individuals based on services in a professional or nonprofessional capacity to 

or on behalf of an educational institution and who worked for certain governmental entities, 

Indian tribes, or nonprofit organizations to which federal law applies.  The denial applies 

between two successive academic years or regular terms whether or not successive, or during a 

period of paid sabbatical leave, or holiday periods within school years or terms. 

 

WYOMING   HB 9    ENACTED March 8, 2012 

    (CH 47)   EFFECTIVE July 1, 2012 

 

Overpayments 

 

Adds a requirement that employers include in their new hire reports the date services for 

remuneration were first performed by a newly hired employee.  Prior law required new hire 

reports to contain the name, address, and social security number of the employee, and the name, 

address and employer identification number of the employer. 

 

Defines “newly hired employee” as an individual who has not previously been employed by the 

employer or was previously employed by the employer but has been separated from employment 

with that employer for at least sixty days. 

 


