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INDIANA SB 486 

(P.L 273) 
ENACTED May 8, 2003 
EFFECTIVE July 1, 2003 

Appeals

Decreases from 20 to 10 days after mailing of notice that an individual has to file an 
appeal before an administrative law judge from a monetary determination notice and 
that an employer has to file an appeal from the employer’s benefit liability notice. 

Decreases from 20 to 10 days after mailing of notice to a claimant and employer that 
they have to file an appeal before an administrative law judge in cases where the 
claimant’s benefit eligibility or disqualification is disputed; from 25 to 15 days for 
parties located in Alaska, Hawaii, or Puerto Rico. 

Financing

Requires the annual deposit of the first $450,000 or less of skills 2016 training 
assessments in the special employment and training services fund for training and 
counseling assistance then requires the remainder of the assessments to be deposited 
in the skills 2016 training fund, effective July 1, 2003. 

Requires the commissioner to allocate up to $450,000 annually for training and 
counseling assistance provided by educational institutions or counseling provided by the 
department of workforce development for individuals who:  

 remain unemployed for at least 4 weeks;  
 are not otherwise eligible for training and counseling assistance under any other 

program; and  
 are not participating in programs that duplicate industrial and building trade 

apprenticeship programs.  

Provides that training or counseling does not excuse the claimant from complying with 
able to work and available for work requirements.  

Provides that eligibility for training and counseling will not be determined until after the 
4th week of eligibility for unemployment training compensation benefits.  

Requires these funded training and counseling assistance programs to be approved by 



the U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Apprenticeship Training.  

Increases from 40 percent to 50 percent the allocation used to provide training to 
participants in both joint labor and management building trades and industrial 
apprenticeship programs of the money that has been allocated to the state educational 
institution from the skills 2016 training fund. 

Deletes certain provisions allocating money in the skills 2016 fund to other programs. 

Repeals the skills 2016 training effective date from January 1, 2003, to December 31, 
2005.  

Requires the department to prepare an annual report by April 30 each year of 
unobligated money in the skills 2016 fund, and provides that the incumbent workers 
training board may reallocate the unobligated money shown in the annual report. 

Deletes the requirement that funds assessed for or deposited in the skills 2016 training 
fund be directed or transferred to the unemployment insurance benefit fund which was 
conditioned on the fund ratio or solvency of the unemployment insurance benefit fund. 

Establishes contribution rates for contributing employers as follows:  

  Most Favorable Least Favorable 

Positive Balance Employer 0.1% to 2.3% 1.1% to 4.1% 

Negative Balance E mployer 4.1% to 5.4% 4.4% to 5.6% 

Monetary Entitlement

Defines wage credits as remuneration paid for employment by an employer to an 
individual and remuneration received as tips or gratuities. 

Provides that the wage credits not to exceed $7,900 for calendar quarters beginning on 
and after July 1, 2002, will be effective until June 30, 2003. 

Limits the wage credits to $8,216 for calendar quarters beginning on and after July 1, 
2003, to June 30, 2004. 

Limits the wage credits to $8,733 for calendar quarters beginning on and after July 1, 
2004, to June 30, 2005. 

Limits the wage credits to $9,250 for calendar quarters beginning on and after July 1, 
2005. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Decreases from 20 to 10 days after mailing of notice that an initial or additional claim 
for benefits was filed that an employing unit, including an employer, has to notify the 
department of any facts which may affect eligibility or right to waiting period credits or 
benefits. 
 
   



KANSAS HB 2332 
(CH 96) 

ENACTED April 18, 2003 
EFFECTIVE July 1, 2003 

Coverage

Excludes from the definition of "employment" service performed by agricultural workers 
who are aliens admitted to the United States to perform labor under the Immigration 
and Nationality Act (commonly called H-2A workers). 

Extensions and Special Programs

Provides for 2 weeks of shared work additional benefits to claimants who exhaust 
regular unemployment insurance or any other extended benefits during the period from 
July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2004. 

Provides that employers will not be charged for additional benefits paid during the 
period from July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2004. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that Social Security payments and Railroad Retirement benefits will not be 
deducted from unemployment benefits. 
 
   
LOUISIANA HB 1554 

(Act 669) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE June 27, 2003 

Financing

Eliminates restriction that supplemental funds for unemployment insurance 
administration be used only for personnel costs associated with certain functions; these 
funds can now be used for any costs associated with the functions. 

Provides that if the legislature fails to renew the Incumbent Worker Training Program 
prior to calendar year 2008, amounts collected as a social charge from employers after 
2007, that would have been used to fund the Incumbent Worker Training Program, 
shall be deposited and applied to each individual employer’s experience-rating record as 
a contribution. 
 
   
MASSACHUSETTS SB 2150 

(CH 142) 
ENACTED November 29,2003 
EFFECTIVE January 1, 2004 

Appeals

Establishes the criteria that the state advisory council will follow when nominating 
persons who will be appointed or reappointed to the board of review; requires the 
nominees to the board of review to be selected from a list submitted to the governor by 
the state advisory council; requires the member designated as chairman to be an 
attorney. 

Financing

Assesses a surtax--a uniform secondary adjustment payment--to be added to every 
employer’s contribution rate in an amount sufficient to ensure that the Federal loans 
can be repaid in full before September 30, payable when the Commissioner determines 



the Unemployment Compensation Fund (UCF) is insufficient to continue benefit 
payments or repay Federal loans; requires the deposit of the secondary adjustment 
payments into the UCF or the Federal Loan Interest Fund; allows deduction of all 
administrative costs incurred for assessing this surtax prior to deposit; requires the 
crediting of secondary adjustment payments to each employer’s account for experience 
rating purposes; requires a notice within 10 days of determining that a secondary 
adjustment payment is due to the joint committee on commerce and labor of the 
amount necessary to collect. 

Provides that the secondary adjustment payment for positive balance employers ranges 
from 0.3 percent to 0.6 percent and from 0.7 percent to 0.9 percent for negative 
balance employers. 

Increases the taxable wage base from $10,800 to $14,000, effective January 1, 2004. 

Provides a revised experience rate tax table with 7 schedules. The range of rates for 
the most and least favorable schedules is as follows:  

 Negative Percentage Employers 
Most favorable 4.60 percent to 7.80 percent 
Least favorable 9.08 percent to 15.40 percent  

 Positive Percentage Employers 
Most favorable 0.80 percent to 3.90 percent 
Least favorable 1.58 percent to 7.70 percent  

Assigns, for calendar years 2004 through 2007, tax rates for negative balance 
employers ranging from 6.46 percent to 10.96 percent and from 1.12 percent to 5.48 
percent for positive balance employers.  

Changes the due dates for filing an updated fund balance report from the 15th day of 
the months of January, April and August to the 15th day of every month. 

Specifies that if an employer or an officer or agent of an employer knowingly fails or 
refuses to pay any contribution, payment in lieu of contribution or interest charge or 
attempts to evade or defeat such payments or who makes a false statement or 
misrepresents the employment status of an individual under his employ to avoid or 
reduce any contribution he will be punished by a fine equal to the total amount of 
contributions owed, plus interest, in addition to a penalty equal to the total amount that 
the individual fraudulently collected during the period such individual was under his 
employ. 

Allows withdrawals from the contingent fund to pay individuals who voluntarily provide 
information leading to establishment of an overpayment or to a determination of an 
employer filing false or fraudulent contribution reports an amount not to exceed 10 
percent of the total penalty assessed and collected; provides for employers not to take 
adverse action against an informant, and an employer that does must be liable in a civil 
action for contempt or other proceeding to such employee for wages and employment 
benefits lost as a result of such action, litigation costs and attorney fees; allows the 
employee to bring action in the district or superior court; requires the department to 
provide a toll-free number for reporting fraudulent acts and promote and advertise the 
number to the public. 



Monetary Entitlement

Provides that the total entitlement to benefit weeks will decrease from 30 to 26 times 
the benefit rate when the state’s unemployment rate for the last 12 months is equal to 
or below 5.1 percent in each of the 10 metropolitan statistical areas of the state. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Specifies that a temporary employee of a temporary help firm voluntarily quits and may 
be denied benefits for failure to contact the temporary help firm for reassignment 
before filing for benefits.  

Overpayments

Specifies that individuals who fraudulently collect benefits while not in total or partial 
unemployment may be disqualified for each week of erroneous payment; requires the 
amount in question to be reduced by any earnings disregarded; provides that erroneous 
payments may be deducted first from future benefit payments; requires each weekly 
deduction not to exceed 25 percent of the individual’s weekly benefit rate; requires 
notification to the individual of the requirement to report earnings; requires the 
notification to meet certain requirements; provides individuals subject to a deduction 
with the right to an appeal and review. 

Specifies that the department may recover erroneously paid benefits provided that:  

 there is no pending hearing or appeal from a decision determining that an 
individual knowingly and willfully failed to furnish information;  

 no hearing or appeal from a decision on ineligibility for benefits is pending;  
 no request for waiver is pending;  
 no request for a redetermination is pending; and  
 from a determination of overpayment, an opportunity for an interview and all 

appeal rights have been exhausted or not taken within the time allowed by law. 

 
   
MINNESOTA S 18a 

(CH 3) 
ENACTED May 30, 2003 
EFFECTIVE May 31, 2003 or as indicated 

Administration

Gives the commissioner of economic security authority to prescribe the manner and 
format in which each employer must file quarterly wage detail reports. 

Requires each employer with 50 or more employees in a quarter to file its quarterly 
wage detail report electronically. 

Provides for the charging of 1-1/2 percent interest per month for late payment of fees, 
assessments, surcharges, or certain penalties by employers. 

Provides for the issuance of a personal identification number (PIN) to each applicant for 
unemployment benefits and establishes presumptions that the applicant is the 
individual using a PIN and that the applicant has received any unemployment benefit 
payment issued. Provides that the presumption may be rebutted by a preponderance of 



evidence to the contrary. 

Provides for biweekly filing of continued requests for unemployment benefits. 

Coverage

Provides that services of a member of a limited liability company, who has less than a 
25 percent ownership share and is considered an employee under the common law, is 
"employment" (previously any member of a limited liability company considered an 
employee under the common law would be considered to be performing 
"employment"). 

Financing

Provides that the base tax rate for a calendar year and any additional assessment will 
be determined based upon the amount in the trust fund on March 31 of the prior year 
as a percentage of total wages paid in covered employment and shall range from 0.1 
percent (if the fund is equal to or more than 0.75 percent of total wages) to 0.4 percent 
(if the trust fund is less than 0.55 percent). 

Effective January 1, 2005, provides for a "falling fund adjustment" of 0.1 percent if the 
amount in the trust fund on March 31 of the prior year is less than 0.75 percent of total 
wages paid in covered employment and is either 10 percent or more below the amount 
in the trust fund on March 31 of the second prior year or is greater than the amount in 
the trust fund on June 30 of the prior year. 

Provides for an additional assessment of 5 to 14 percent if the amount in the trust fund 
on March 31 of the prior year is less than 0.55 percent of total wages paid in covered 
employment. 

Reduces from 60 to 48 months the period of time for which paid benefits and taxable 
payroll will be used in determining an employer’s experience rate. 

Provides that any assessment, fee, or surcharge imposed under the state’s 
unemployment insurance law will be treated the same as, and considered as, a tax. 
Such assessments, fees, or surcharges will be subject to the same collection procedures 
that apply to past due taxes. 

Monetary Entitlement

Lowers the limit on the weekly benefit amount to the higher of:  

 50 percent of an applicant’s average weekly wage during the base period, to a 
maximum of 66-2/3 percent of the state’s average weekly wage, or  

 50 percent of an applicant’s average weekly wage during the high quarter, to a 
maximum of 45 percent (previously 50 percent) of the state’s average weekly 
wage.  

Provides that the maximum weekly unemployment benefit amount based upon the high 
quarter calculation shall not be less than $350. Provision expires September 1, 2006.  

Provides that the state’s annual maximum weekly benefit amount shall apply to benefit 
accounts established on or after the first Sunday in August and that such benefit 



accounts shall be unaffected by any subsequent August change to the maximum weekly 
benefit amount. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Effective for benefit accounts established August 3, 2003, and thereafter, specifies that 
provision making an individual ineligible to receive unemployment benefits because of 
receipt of severance pay, bonus pay, vacation pay, sick pay or other disqualifying 
income that is considered wages at the time of payment, applies to all weeks of 
payment (rather than only the first 4 weeks of payment and one-half the number of 
any additional weeks of payment). 

Provides that an individual who quits employment because the applicant’s serious 
illness or injury made it medically necessary may be eligible for benefits if the individual 
informed the employer of the condition but no reasonable accommodation was made 
available (previously required the applicant to make "reasonable efforts" to remain in 
employment). 

Specifies that an individual who fails without good cause to affirmatively request an 
additional job assignment within 5 days (previously no time period specified) of 
completing a suitable temporary job assignment from a temporary staffing service 
employer, or who refuses without good cause an additional suitable job assignment 
offered, shall be considered to have quit employment. 

Amends the definition of misconduct to include intentional, negligent or indifferent 
conduct that “evinces a serious violation of the standards of behavior the employer has 
the right to reasonably expect of the employee.” Specifies that a single incident that 
does not have a significant adverse impact on the employer, conduct an average 
reasonable employee would have engaged in under the circumstances, or good faith 
errors in judgment if judgment was required are not misconduct. 

Further specifies that conduct that was the result of the applicant, or the applicant’s 
minor child, being a victim of domestic abuse, is not employment misconduct. 

Specifies that evidence of domestic abuse may be provided through a statement by an 
attorney who assisted an individual in dealing with the domestic abuse. 

Limits the disqualification from receiving benefits due to refusal of an offer of suitable 
employment to offers made during the claimant’s benefit year. 
 
   
NEVADA S 423 

(CH 348) 
ENACTED June 9, 2003 
EFFECTIVE July 1, 2003 

Overpayments

Extends the period for recovery of overpayments from 3 to 5 years. 
 
   
NEW HAMPSHIRE SB 197 

(CH 239) 
ENACTED July 8, 2003 
EFFECTIVE July 8, 2003, except as indicated 



Administration

Specifies that the Reed Act distribution transferred to the state on March 13, 2002, can 
only be used for the payment of benefits and for the payment of expenses incurred for 
the administration of the unemployment compensation law and public employment 
offices. Specifies that the expenses for administration must be appropriated by the 
legislature and only if the expenses are incurred and the money is requisitioned after 
enactment of appropriation law which specifies the purpose for and use of the money. 
Restricts the obligation of the Reed Act distribution (except the special Reed Act 
distribution) within 2 years after the date of the enactment of appropriation law and 
limits the amount which may be obligated.  

Extensions and Special Programs (Effective September 6, 2003)

Establishes an additional unemployment benefits program for individuals who exhaust 
benefits under the Temporary Unemployment Compensation Act of 2002 after May 31, 
2002, and meet certain eligibility requirements. 

Excludes additional unemployment benefits from being used in computing the future 
tax rate of a taxpaying employer and charged to a government or nonprofit employer 
subject to reimbursing of benefits. 

Funds the additional unemployment benefits from the March 2002 Reed Act 
distribution, and terminates the payment of additional unemployment benefits upon 
exhaustion of such Reed Act funds. 

Provides that the weekly amount of additional unemployment benefits available to an 
individual is the same as the weekly benefit amount of regular benefits. 

Provides that the maximum amount of additional unemployment benefits available is 13 
times the individual’s weekly additional unemployment benefit amount. 

Monetary Entitlement

Provides that income support from any federal reemployment account is considered 
wages when an individual is totally or partially unemployed.  
 
   
NEW MEXICO HB 261 ENACTED March 19, 2003 

EFFECTIVE March 19, 2003, except as indicated 

Extensions and Special Programs

Establishes, beginning July 1, 2003, an optional total unemployment rate (TUR) 
program which triggers "on" for weeks of extended benefits when the average 
seasonally adjusted TUR for all states for the most recent 3-month period equals or 
exceeds 6.5 percent and the average TUR of the state for the most recent 3-month 
period equals or exceeds 110 percent of the TURs for either or both of the 
corresponding 3-month periods in the 2 preceding calendar years. Provides that the 
total extended benefit amount payable will be the least of the following 3 amounts:  

 50 percent of regular benefits;  
 13 times the individual’s average weekly benefit amount; or  
 39 times the individual’s average weekly benefit amount reduced by regular 



benefits, additional benefits and readjustment allowances  

Establishes, beginning July 1, 2003, a high unemployment period for additional weeks 
of extended benefits when the average seasonal adjusted TUR for all states for the 
most recent 3- month period equals or exceeds 8.0 percent and the average TUR of the 
state for the same period equals of exceeds 110 percent of the TURs for either or both 
of the corresponding 3-month periods in the 2 preceding years. Provides that for weeks 
beginning in a high unemployment period the total extended benefit amount payable 
will be the least of the following 3 amounts:  

 80 percent of regular benefits;  
 20 times the individual’s average weekly benefit amount; or  
 46 times the individual’s average weekly benefit amount reduced by regular 

benefits, additional benefits and readjustment allowances  

Noncharges the contributing employers’ account for the share of extended benefits paid 
based on the TUR trigger; charges to the reimbursing employer’s and government 
entity’s account, the share of extended benefits paid based on the TUR trigger.  

Financing

Provides for noncharging contributing employer’s account with benefits paid for 
dependent’s allowance, separation due to domestic abuse, or individual’s enrolled in 
approved training or attending school on a full-time basis. 

Changes the reduced rate for the payment of contributions for new employers with less 
than 3 years of experience rating from 2.7 percent to 2 percent, effective January 1, 
2004. 

Allows an employer that is in business in another state(s), is not currently doing 
business in New Mexico, and establishes an account in New Mexico, to elect to receive a 
beginning contribution rate of 2 percent or a contribution rate based on the current 
contribution rate schedule, whichever is lower, if certain other conditions are met; 
provides that rates for subsequent years will be determined by the condition of the 
account for the computation date. 

Adds a new tax rate schedule for use if the fund equals at least 3.7 percent of the total 
payrolls with rates ranging from 0.03 percent to 5.40 percent. This is the most 
favorable schedule. 

Appropriates $2,592,401 from Reed Act distribution funds made available to the State 
on March 13, 2002, to the unemployment compensation administration fund for 
expenditure in fiscal years 2004 through 2007 to implement the State’s unemployment 
insurance law; reverts to the Reed Act distribution fund any unexpended or 
unencumbered balance remaining at the end of fiscal year 2007. 

Monetary Entitlement

Changes the computation of the weekly benefit amount from one twenty-sixth of the 
high quarter wages to 52.5 percent of the average weekly wage in the highest base 
period quarter, effective July 1, 2003. 

Provides for a weekly dependent’s allowance of $15 per dependent up to a maximum of 



4 dependents, not to exceed 50 percent of the individual’s weekly benefit rate, effective 
January 1, 2004. 

Provides for an alternative base period consisting of the last 4 completed calendar 
quarters immediately preceding the first day of the individual’s benefit year for 
claimants earning insufficient wages in the regular base period (first 4 of last 5 
completed quarters) to be eligible for benefits, effective January 1, 2004. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that individuals able to work and available and actively seeking part-time work 
in accordance with the terms, and conditions, and hours common in the occupation or 
business in which the individual is seeking work are eligible to receive benefits under 
certain conditions, effective January 1, 2004. 

Provides that no otherwise eligible individual is to be denied benefits for any week 
because the individual is attending school on a full-time basis with the approval of the 
job training division, effective January 1, 2004. 

Provides that separation from employment due to domestic abuse evidenced by medical 
documentation, legal documentation or a sworn statement from the claimant is good 
cause for voluntary leaving, and individuals are eligible to receive benefits, effective 
July 1, 2003; includes the definition of domestic abuse in its unemployment law. 
 
   
NEW YORK SB 2620 

(CH 413) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE August 26, 2003 

Extensions and Special Programs

Reauthorizes the self-employment assistance (SEA) program which permits eligible 
individuals to receive an allowance in lieu of regular unemployment benefits to assist 
them in establishing a business and becoming self-employed, is payable in the same 
amount as regular unemployment benefits, and expires December 7, 2005. 

For SEA participants, waives the requirements (through December 7, 2005) that:  

 benefits will be paid to claimants totally unemployed and unable to engage in 
their usual occupation or those for which trained or experienced; and  

 no benefits will be payable to claimants who are incapable, not ready, willing 
and able to work in their usual occupation or those for which trained or 
experienced.  

Financing

Requires that the subsidiary rate for employers who have not been liable for 
contributions during at least the 5 completed calendar quarters ending on the 
computation date will be the highest percentage for those employers with a positive 
employer’s account percentage. 

Limits negative balance employers eligible for a rate reduction to those with a minimum 
of 17 quarters of liability (previously there was no minimum liability period). 



Monetary Entitlement

Provides that any claimant whose high calendar quarter remuneration during the base 
period is more than $3,575 will have a weekly benefit rate no less than $143. 
 
   
NORTH CAROLINA SB 439 

(CH 220) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE June 19, 2003 

Financing

Clarifies that no employer granted or in reimbursement status will be allowed a refund 
of any previous balance used in a transfer to reimbursement status. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that an individual will not be disqualified from receiving benefits for leaving 
work due to the disability or health condition of a minor child or aged or disabled parent 
of an individual, or a disabled member of the individual’s immediate family if the 
individual gave the employer notice of the condition (previously had to be a disability or 
health condition of the employee). 

Provides that an individual will not be disqualified from eligibility for UI solely on the 
basis that the individual is only available for part-time work. The individual may be 
considered able and available for work if:  

 The claimant’s monetary eligibility is based predominately on wages from part-
time work.  

 The claimant is actively seeking and is willing to accept work under essentially 
the same conditions as existed while the claimant’s reported wages were 
accrued.  

 The claimant imposes no other restriction and is in a labor market in which a 
reasonable demand exists for part-time services.  

Provides that any claimant leaving work to accompany his or her spouse to a new place 
of residence because the spouse has been reassigned from one military assignment to 
another shall be deemed to have good cause for leaving work.  

Reduces the disqualification from receiving benefits from 5 to 2 weeks for a claimant 
who leaves work to accompany his or her spouse to a new place of residence where the 
spouse has secured work in a location that is too far removed for the claimant 
reasonably to continue his or her work. 

Expands the category of claimants covered by the exception providing good cause for 
leaving work if a claimant leaves work or is discharged as a result of domestic violence. 
Previously, the exception applied only to those claimants given a protective order 
concerning domestic violence. The expansion also covers situations where there is 
"evidence" of domestic violence, sexual offense, or stalking, or the claimant has 
qualified for the state’s new address confidentiality program.  
 
   
NORTH DAKOTA HB 1096 ENACTED March 26, 2003 



(CH 440) EFFECTIVE August 1, 2003 

Administration

Provides that employers refusing to comply with recordkeeping requirements are 
subject to a civil penalty of $500 for each offense. Requires the agency to collect the 
penalty by civil action and deposit any penalty collected to the credit of the federal 
advance interest repayment fund. 

Financing

With respect to noncharging for voluntary quits and discharge for misconduct, clarifies 
that the quit or discharge must be during the base period and that the employer be the 
base period employer. 

Provides for noncharging of an employer’s account with benefits paid to an individual 
who is currently employed part time with that employer when the hiring agreement 
between the individual and the employer has not changed since the individual 
commenced work for that employer. Does not apply to an employee of a temporary 
help firm. 

Eliminates the 1.5 percent additional tax for employers in highway and street 
construction, except elevated highways, when they fail to file reports in a timely 
manner, thus requiring them to pay the same penalty rate as all other employers. 

Monetary Entitlement

Provides that the 10 times the weekly benefit amount limitation on base period wages 
used to establish a second benefit year and earned from employment by a partnership, 
corporation, or limited liability company, does not apply if at the time of filing a claim, 
the ownership interest has been ceded. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Excludes from the definition of "wages" qualifying supplemental unemployment 
payments financed and paid by employers to former employees if the payments are 
paid under a plan meeting certain requirements. 
 
   
OREGON SB 916 ENACTED September 22, 2003 

EFFECTIVE June 27, 2003 

Coverage

Expands the definition of members of the same family of corporate officers for whom 
the corporation may elect to exclude from "employment" services. Such exclusion does 
not apply to service performed for a nonprofit employing unit, political subdivision or for 
an Indian tribe. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Disqualifies individuals from benefits until remuneration is received that equals or 
exceeds 4 times the individual’s weekly benefit amount for:  

 Failure or refusal to take a drug or alcohol test as required by the employer’s 
reasonable written policy;  



 Refusal to cooperate with or subverts or attempts to subvert a drug or alcohol 
testing process in any employment-related test required by the employer's 
reasonable written policy;  

 Being under the influence of intoxicants while performing services for the 
employer;  

 Possessing a drug unlawfully or in violation of the employer's reasonable written 
policy during work;  

 Testing positive for alcohol or an unlawful drug in connection with employment; 
or  

 Refusal to enter into or violates the terms of a last chance agreement with the 
employer.  

Provides that an individual is not disqualified if the individual, on the date of separation 
or within 10 days after the date of separation, is participating in a recognized drug or 
alcohol rehabilitation program and provides documentation of participation in the 
program to the department. This does not apply to an individual who has refused to 
enter into or has violated the terms of a last chance agreement with the employer.  

Provides that it is no defense or excuse against disqualification that the individual's 
separation resulted from alcohol use, marijuana use, unlawful drug use, alcoholism, or 
drug addiction.  

Disqualifies individuals from benefits until remuneration is received that equals or 
exceeds 4 times the individual’s weekly benefit amount when the individual voluntarily 
leaves work, fails to apply for available suitable work when referred by the employment 
office or the director, or fails to accept suitable work when offered:  

 Because the employer has or introduces a reasonable written drug-free 
workplace policy that is consistent with state unemployment compensation law;  

 Because the employer requires the employee to consent to present or future 
drug or alcohol tests under a reasonable written policy that is consistent with 
state unemployment compensation law;  

 To avoid taking a drug or alcohol test under a reasonable written policy that is 
consistent with state unemployment compensation law; or  

 To avoid meeting the requirements of a last chance agreement.  

 
   
OREGON SB 903 

(CH 536) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE July 3, 2003 

Extensions and Special Programs

Changes the ending date of the state-financed emergency unemployment benefits 
program from December 27, 2003, to September 27, 2003. 

Eliminates the provision allowing the Director of the Employment Department to stop 
payments of emergency benefits when total payments would exceed $29 million. 

Establishes a totally state-financed temporary additional benefits program. 

Provides temporary additional benefits to exhaustees of regular benefits after 



September 27, 2003, through February 14, 2004, during periods of high unemployment 
for weeks not within an extended benefit period.  

Provides that to trigger "on" a temporary additional benefits period, the 13-week 
insured unemployment rate must equal or exceed 4 percent or the 13-week total 
unemployment rate must equal or exceed 6.5 percent. 

Requires an individual’s benefit year to have expired after January 5, 2002, and s/he 
not be eligible for any other unemployment benefits to receive temporary additional 
benefits.  

Provides that the amount of temporary additional benefits receivable is equal to the 
weekly benefit amount of the individual’s most recent regular unemployment benefit 
claim. 

Provides that the maximum temporary additional benefits an individual may receive is 
25 percent of the individual’s most recent regular unemployment benefit claim. 

Provides that contributing employers’ accounts may not be charged for benefits paid 
under this extension, and that reimbursing entities may not be relieved from paying an 
amount equal to the temporary additional benefits paid into the state unemployment 
fund. 

Provides that between July 3, 2003, and February 14, 2004, an additional benefit 
period may not begin or continue and additional benefits are not payable. 

Extends the supplemental benefits eligibility period for 2 years through June 30, 2005, 
for those eligible dislocated workers who need to continue or complete professional 
technical training and who meet certain other requirements.  
 
   
WASHINGTON S 6097 

(CH 4) 
ENACTED June 20, 2003 
EFFECTIVE June 20, 2003 or as otherwise 
indicated 

Administration

Effective January 4, 2004, requires the Employment Security Department to contract 
with employment security agencies in other states to ensure that individuals residing in 
those states and receiving Washington benefits are actively searching for work. 

Effective on or after January 1, 2007, specifies that the average annual wage for 
contribution purposes will be calculated based on wage information from employers 
from the preceding calendar year only (formerly based on wage information from the 
preceding 3 calendar years). 

Changes the basic penalty for failure of an employer to file timely and complete reports 
from a minimum of $10 per violation to an amount determined by the Commissioner of 
the Employment Security Department, but not to exceed $250 or 10 percent of the 
quarterly contributions for each offense, whichever is less. 



Further provides that if an employer knowingly misrepresents to the Employment 
Security Department the amount of his or her payroll, the employer shall be liable for 
up to 10 times the amount of the difference in contributions paid and the amount the 
employer should have paid and for the reasonable expenses of auditing his or her books 
and collecting such sums.  

Also provides that if a delinquency is due to an intent to evade successorship 
provisions, the Commissioner shall assign to the employer, and to any business found 
to be promoting the evasion of such provisions, a special tax rate for 5 consecutive 
calendar quarters, beginning with the calendar quarter in which the intent to evade 
such provision is found. 

Requires the Employment Security Department to:  

 In consultation with an advisory committee equally representing business and 
labor, identify the programs funded by special administrative contributions and 
report to the advisory committee the expenditures for these programs annually 
and cumulatively since enactment.  

 Conduct a review of the type, rate, and causes of employer turnover in the 
unemployment compensation system, using unified business identifier 
information or other relevant data bases and methods.  

 Conduct a study of the potential for year to year volatility, if any, in the rate 
classes to which employers in the array system are assigned.  

 Report its findings and recommendations to the legislature by December 1, 
2003.  

Clarifies that interest penalties on overpayments must be used, first, to fund either 
Social Security number cross-match audits or other more effective activities to ensure 
that individuals are entitled to all amounts of benefits that they are paid, and, second, 
to fund other detection and recovery of overpayment and collection activities.  

Includes a savings clause providing that if any part of this Act is found to be in conflict 
with federal requirements, the conflicting part of the Act will be inoperative to the 
extent of the conflict. 

Coverage

Excludes from the definition of "employment" service performed by a nonresident alien 
agricultural worker for the period he or she is temporarily present in the United States 
as a nonimmigrant under subparagraph (H)(ii) of the Federal Immigration and 
Naturalization Act (commonly called H-2A workers). 

Financing

Effective January 1, 2004, excludes from the definition of "wages" income attributable 
to the transfer of shares of stock to the employee pursuant to the individual’s exercise 
of a stock option granted for any reason connected with the individual’s employment. 

For rate years 2005 and beyond, revises the system for assigning employer 
contribution rates. Creates 40 rate classes. Provides that the contribution rate for each 
employer shall be the sum of an array calculation factor rate, a graduated social cost 
factor rate, and any solvency surcharge. 



For contributions assessed for rate years 2005 and beyond, provides that a solvency 
surcharge will go into effect when the balance in the unemployment compensation fund 
is determined to provide fewer than 6 months of unemployment benefits. The charge 
will be at the lowest rate necessary, to ensure that a total of 8 months of benefits are 
available in the unemployment compensation fund, but the rate shall not be more than 
two-tenths of 1 percent for each employer. 

Revises restrictions on voluntary contributions to account for the change in the number 
of rate classes. 

For claims with effective dates on or after January 4, 2004, provides that benefits will 
be charged only to an individual’s separating employer if the individual left work:  

 For bona fide employment and became unemployed after having worked and 
earned wages in the bona fide employment;  

 Because the individual's usual compensation was reduced by 25 percent or 
more;  

 Because the individual's usual hours were reduced by 25 percent or more;  
 Because the individual's worksite changed, such change caused a material 

increase in distance or difficulty of travel, and, after the change, the commute 
was greater than is customary for workers in the individual's job classification 
and labor market;  

 Because the individual's worksite safety deteriorated, the individual reported 
such safety deterioration to the employer, and the employer failed to correct the 
hazards within a reasonable period of time;  

 Because of illegal activities in the individual's worksite, the individual reported 
such activities to the employer, and the employer failed to end such activities 
within a reasonable period of time; or  

 Because the individual's usual work was changed to work that violates the 
individual's religious convictions or sincere moral beliefs.  

Repeals definition of "person with marginal labor force attachment," the employers of 
whom were formerly noncharged for certain benefits.  

Provides that for transfers of employer experience on or after January 1, 2005, if a 
successor is not an employer at the time of transfer, the successor must pay 
contributions at either:  

 the contribution rate of the predecessor employer, for the remainder of the rate 
year, after which the rate will be determined based on the transferred 
experience of the acquired business and the successor’s experience after the 
transfer, or  

 a rate equal to the rate assigned to employers not qualified to be in the array, 
until the successor qualifies for a different rate in its own right.  

If there is substantial continuity of ownership or management between the predecessor 
and successor, the successor shall pay at the rate of the predecessor as described 
above.  

If a successor simultaneously acquires the business or a portion of the business of two 
or more employers with different contribution rates, the successor’s rate, until it 



qualifies in its own right for a new rate, will be the rate of the predecessor that had the 
largest taxable payroll in the completed calendar quarter immediately preceding the 
transfer, but not less that the rate assigned to employers not qualified to be in the 
array. 

Clarifies that:  

 Amounts in the federal interest payment fund must be used solely for the 
payment of interest on Title XII, SSA, advances, and  

 Funds set aside in an account in the administrative contingency fund for the 
financing of special programs to assist the unemployed and to finance the 
Employment Security Department’s administrative costs must be expended 
solely for UI purposes.  

Monetary Entitlement

With respect to claims that have an effective date on or after the first Sunday of the 
calendar month immediately following the month in which the Commissioner finds that 
the state unemployment rate is 6.8 percent or less, benefits will be payable to any 
eligible individual during the individual's benefit year in a maximum amount equal to 
the lesser of 26 times the weekly benefit amount or 1/3 of the individual's base year 
wages.  

With respect to claims with an effective date on or after January 4, 2004, and before 
January 2, 2005, provides that an individual's weekly benefit amount will be an amount 
equal to 1/25 of the average quarterly wages of the individual's total wages during the 
3 quarters (previously 2 quarters) of the individual's base year in which such total 
wages were highest. 

With respect to claims with an effective date on or after January 2, 2005, provides that 
an individual's weekly benefit amount will be an amount equal to 1 percent of the total 
wages paid in the individual's base year. 

For claims with an effective date on or after January 4, 2004, changes the maximum 
benefit amount from 70 percent of the average weekly wage to the greater of $496 or 
63 percent of the average weekly wage.  

Nonmonetary Eligibility

(Provisions in this section apply to claims with effective dates on or after January 4, 
2004, unless otherwise indicated.) 

Provides that if, for a claimant actively seeking work, a labor agreement or dispatch 
rules apply, the customary trade practices that apply to the work search will be in 
accordance with the applicable agreement or rules. 

Eliminates the:  

 Provision requiring the Commissioner to consider only work-connected factors in 
deciding whether an individual has left work voluntarily without good cause, and  

 Special provision concerning individuals whose marital status or domestic 



responsibilities caused them to leave employment.  

Specifies that a claimant must have terminated his or her employment status and not 
be entitled to be reinstated to the same or comparable or similar provision in order for 
non-disqualification due to separation as a result of illness or disability to apply.  

Limits the provision exempting those who leave work to follow a spouse from the 
voluntary quit disqualification to those whose spouse has been relocated due to a 
military transfer. 

Provides that an individual is not disqualified from receiving benefits for voluntarily 
leaving work if:  

 The individual's usual compensation was reduced by 25 percent or more;  
 The individual's usual hours were reduced by 25 percent or more;  
 The individual's worksite changed, such change caused a material increase in 

distance or difficulty of travel, and, after the change, the commute was greater 
than is customary for workers in the individual's job classification and labor 
market;  

 The individual's worksite safety deteriorated, the individual reported such safety 
deterioration to the employer, and the employer failed to correct the hazards 
within a reasonable period of time;  

 The individual left work because of illegal activities in the individual's worksite, 
the individual reported such activities to the employer, and the employer failed 
to end such activities within a reasonable period of time; or  

 The individual's usual work was changed to work that violates the individual's 
religious convictions or sincere moral beliefs.  

Defines "misconduct," as, but is not limited to:  

 Willful or wanton disregard of the rights, title, and interests of the employer or a 
fellow employee;  

 Deliberate violations or disregard of standards of behavior which the employer 
has the right to expect of an employee;  

 Carelessness or negligence that causes or would likely cause serious bodily harm 
to the employer or a fellow employee; or  

 Carelessness or negligence of such degree or recurrence to show an intentional 
or substantial disregard of the employer's interest.  

Provides that the following acts are considered misconduct:  

 Insubordination showing a deliberate, willful, or purposeful refusal to follow the 
reasonable directions or instructions of the employer;  

 Repeated inexcusable tardiness following warnings by the employer;  
 Dishonesty related to employment, including but not limited to deliberate 

falsification of company records, theft, deliberate deception, or lying;  
 Repeated and inexcusable absences, including absences for which the employee 

was able to give advance notice and failed to do so;  
 Deliberate acts that are illegal, provoke violence or violation of laws, or violate 

the collective bargaining agreement. However, an employee who engages in 
lawful union activity may not be disqualified due to misconduct;  



 Violation of a company rule if the rule is reasonable and if the claimant knew or 
should have known of the existence of the rule; or  

 Violations of law by the claimant while acting within the scope of employment 
that substantially affect the claimant's job performance or that substantially 
harm the employer's ability to do business.  

Specifies that "misconduct" does not include:  

 Inefficiency, unsatisfactory conduct, or failure to perform well as the result of 
inability or incapacity;  

 Inadvertence or ordinary negligence in isolated instances; or  
 Good faith errors in judgment or discretion.  

Defines "gross misconduct" as a criminal act in connection with an individual's work for 
which the individual has been convicted in a criminal court, or has admitted 
committing, or conduct connected with the individual's work that demonstrates a 
flagrant and wanton disregard of and for the rights, title, or interest of the employer or 
a fellow employee.  

Provides that an individual will be disqualified from receiving benefits if he or she has 
been discharged for misconduct for 10 (previously 7) calendar weeks and until he or 
she has obtained bona fide work in covered employment and has earned wages in that 
employment equal to 10 times (previously 7 times) his or her weekly benefit amount.  

Provides that an individual who has been discharged from his or her work because of 
gross misconduct will have either all hourly wage credits based on that employment or 
680 hours of wage credits, whichever is greater, canceled. (Law previously provided 
only that wage credits based on that employment would be canceled.) 

Specifies that if evidence of seeking work consists of documented in-person activities at 
the local reemployment center, the activities must occur at least 3 times per week to 
satisfy the job search requirements for claims of 5 or more weeks. 

Specifies that an individual who fails to comply fully with the requirements for actively 
seeking work will lose benefits for all weeks of noncompliance and will be liable for the 
repayment of such benefits. 

With respect to claims that have an effective date on or after January 2, 2005, provides 
that an otherwise eligible individual may not be denied benefits for any week, due to 
the application of provisions relating to availability for work, active search for work, or 
failure to apply for or refusal to accept suitable work, because the individual is a part-
time worker and is available for, seeks, applies for, or accepts only work of 17 or fewer 
hours per week.  

Defines "part-time worker" as an individual who: earned wages in "employment" in at 
least 40 weeks in the individual's base year; and did not earn wages in "employment" 
in more than 17 hours per week in any weeks in the individual's base year. 

Effective upon enactment, repeals section providing that employees separated from 
employment due to wage garnishment will not be disqualified. 
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EFFECTIVE July 1, 2003 

Monetary Entitlement

Specifies that the maximum weekly benefit amount be no more than the statewide 
average weekly wage times 55 percent (without the former limitation of $300). 

Extends for 1 additional year (to June 30, 2005) the period during which the waiting 
week for initial or additional claims for benefits does not apply. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that an otherwise eligible individual is eligible for benefits if not receiving 
wages or compensation while participating in training in an apprenticeship program 
approved by the department if the individual meets certain conditions. 

With respect to disqualification for voluntary quit without good cause, failure to search 
for work, and refusal of suitable work:  

 Eliminates the 12-week rework requirement, and  
 Lowers the requalifying earnings from 12 to 8 times the weekly benefit amount.  

With respect to disqualification for misconduct, eliminates the 12-week rework 
requirement.  

Disqualifies an individual from benefit entitlement if receiving a retirement annuity, 
pension or other payments from a base period employer or a contributory base period 
employer and the individual made no contribution to the annuity, pension or other 
payment. 

Provides that no deduction from benefits will be made when an individual receives a 
retirement annuity, pension, or other payment that the individual contributed to 
(previously a 50 percent deduction was required). 

Changes the recoupment period for offsetting overpayments without civil action against 
future benefits from within 3 years of the effective date of an overpayment 
determination to within 5 years of the effective date of the claim resulting in the 
overpayment.  

Requires that the department cancel the amount of overpayment or penalty due on any 
overpayment when:  

 The individual is deceased with no estate or the estate is closed and all assets 
are distributed; or  

 The individual is adjudicated insolvent by a court of competent jurisdiction with 
no remaining assets.  

Permits the department to cancel the amount of overpayments or penalty due on any 
overpayment 5 years after the effective date of the claim resulting in an overpayment 



when:  

 The individual cannot be located within the state of Wyoming;  
 The individual is totally unable to work; or  
 The department’s records show the individual earned covered wages of less than 

one-half the average weekly wage within Wyoming in the most recent calendar 
year.  

Exempts certain religious, charitable, educational or other nonprofit employers and 
employers of domestic service, or agricultural labor, who met the state’s unemployment 
insurance tax liability requirements for the first time during the preceding calendar 
year, from the delinquent rate provisions for the subsequent year, provided the 
employer submits all reports and contributions by April 30 of the subsequent year.  
 


